Compositions

The styles, contents and structures of various art forms, whether it is literature, painting or music, have been changing with time. This similarly applies to qin music. A same qin piece in a Qing Dynasty handbook differs a lot from that in a Ming Dynasty one. Having new development does not mean discarding the tradition. Qin lovers of the present generation, faced with the vast heritage, besides rediscovering and maintaining the tradition, should explore new directions and add new elements onto the traditional foundation of qin music. Since 1986, I have attempted to compose new pieces for the qin. These were performed in Hong Kong and Mainland, and some were published in CDs. Qin lovers interested in my compositions have asked me for the scores. To facilitate the process, I have put some of these scores onto this website. Qin lovers are welcome to download the scores for their own practice. These are not for sale nor for publication without my permission.

Because my book Exploring the Secluded has included the scores of my compositions before 2016 in cipher and tablature notations, this website would only include scores in staff and tablature notations, as well as those compositions after 2016.

Marble Surface

Three Poems by the Drunken Li Bai

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (2017)

 

    According to literature, the famous Tang Dynasty poet, Li Bai, wrote three famous poems while drunk for Emperor Xuanzong and Consort Yang. The three poems were then set to music and sung by the court musician Li Guinian. With such background, this composition starts with free rhythm and shifting modality to depict the drunken mood of Li Bai. Variants of a motive of the qin piece Drunken Elation are interspersed in the music. Some of the phrases use a special hemitonic pentatonic scale (re, mi, fa, la, ti) similar to that found in past court music. The main melodies for the poems utilize the elegant yayue heptatonic scale. The special hemitonic pentatonic scale in two different keys in the qin and xiao parts creates an interesting contrast to the melodies of the poems.

Download score in cipher and tablature notations

 

Chan Chak-Lui (vocal); Ken Wu Yun-Kan (xiao)

Marble Surface

Music for Confucius 63/Confucius: 63 Revisited

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan(2016)

  This was written for the plays, Confucius 63/Confucius: 63 Revisited, staged by Chung Ying Theatre Company. Below are three of the short melodies, performed by Tse Chun-Yan on the qin (silk strings) and Tam Po-Shek on the xiao.

1
00:00 / 01:41
2
00:00 / 01:24
3
00:00 / 01:39
Marble Surface

The Sonorous Mountains

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (2014)

 

    The title of this qin and xiao duet is based on a quote from a master painter of the Southern Dynasties, Zong Bing, who said "when I play the qin, I attempt to make the mountains [in his paintings] sonorous". This piece, written in traditional musical scales complemented with modern elements, is divided into several sections with zen subtitles. At the start, seeing "mountains are not mountains", the qin plays harmonics in parallel fifths, dialoguing with the xiao in shifting modality. After the introduction, "the mountains are sonorous". The main melody is played in D yu mode in yayue scale, which is further developed into a climatic section in D shang mode in suyue scale. After the climax, a melancholic mood is depicted in "bells of the old temple" in D zhi mode in kuyin scale. After that, "the mountains are silent", and the introductory section reappears, but now, "mountains are mountains" again.

Download score in staff notation

 

Ken Wu Yun-Kan (xiao)

Marble Surface

Romance Re-born

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (2002)

 

    This short and elegant melody was written for a romance drama series of Hong Kong TVB in 2002. Just for interest, lyrics were added in 2013 together with a friend of mine, Jasmine Bux, and Yu Mei-Lai was invited to try singing the piece. 

Download score in staff and tablature notations

 

Yu Mei-Lai (vocal); Ken Wu Yun-Kan (xiao)

Marble Surface

Composition in Jue Mode

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1999)

 

    Traditional Chinese music was usually written in modes of gong (do), shang (re), zhi (sol), and yu (la). The jue (mi) mode was rarely used except in music of the ethnic minorities.

 

    This piece has been composed in an attempt to incorporate the jue mode of the heptatonic bianzhi (♯fa) scale with the qiliang (melancholic) scale found in qin handbooks of the Ming Dynasty. There is a touch of freshness on comparison with qin pieces of the Qing Dynasty.

Download score in staff and tablature notations

Marble Surface

The Autumnal Sacrifice

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1997)

 

    A poem without words -- in loving memory of my late grandmother.

    Composed in modern style, the piece has four short sections:

 

       Back from a dream
       The autumnal sacrifice
       Artificial flowers
       Candle tears

Download score in staff and tablature notations

Marble Surface

Composition in Shang Mode

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1990)

 

    There used to be a special scale in the shang mode pieces from the middle volume of Shenqi mipu (1425) with much use of semitones, and which could easily be taken as in the gong mode. It is a pity that simplification took place in versions in subsequent generations with elimination of the semitones, and the uniqueness of this scale vanished.

 

    This piece composed in the ancient scale is an attempt to bring back the special interest that is age-old yet with a fresh appeal.

Download score in staff and tablature notations

Marble Surface

The Falling Plum Blossoms

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1989)

 

    This is a duet of qin and xiao (vertical bamboo flute) composed on the bianzhi (♯fa) scale in the traditional form of qin music. These two instruments are brought together in free counterpoint instead of traditional unison.

 

    The music describes the sorrow of LI Yu (937-978), the king of a subjugated nation (Nan Tang), as expressed in a poem of his, "Like heavy snow the plum blossoms fall, I wipe time and again but cannot get rid of them all."

Download score in staff and tablature notations

 

Sou Si-Tai (xiao)

Marble Surface

The Oil-Lamp Flickered

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1988)

 

    This composition was based on the structure and style of traditional qin music, with modulation before the ending section to enhance its musical appeal. The composer was inspired by a poem written by NALAN Shengde (a scholar of the Qing Dynasty) in which he lamented the transient reunion with his late wife in a dream. The poem ends like this: "The moment I embraced her the oil-lamp flickered, and I was left alone gazing at the glaring lamp-glass."

Download score in staff and tablature notations

Marble Surface

Composition in Bianzhi Scale

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1987)

 

    The bianzhi scale is a traditional scale formed by adding ti and ♯fa to the pentatonic scale. This composition with free counterpoint between the qin and xiao adds new meaning to the traditional style.

Download score in staff and tablature notations

 

Wang Youdi (qin); Ricky Yeung Wai-Kit (xiao)

Marble Surface

Promenade on an Autumn Day: Three Short Poems

 

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1987)

 

    This piece makes use of the unique sound qualities of the qin and contemporary composition techniques to create the mood of modern poetry. The piece has three short sections:

       Stars on the lake
       Solitude of Lin Zexu’s statue
       Autumnal leaves.

    The first two sections, in free rhythm, employ many semitones and have ambiguous tonality. The third section uses two different pentatonic scales alternately performed with open string notes and harmonic notes, and closes quietly with a dissonant interval.

Download score in staff and tablature notations

John Yiu Shek-On (qin)

Promenade on an Autumn DayPlayed by John Yiu Shek-On
00:00 / 04:31
 
Marble Surface

Composition in Yifan Mode

Composed by TSE Chun-Yan (1986)

    Yifan mode is a commonly used musical scale in Guangdong music, mainly in sol mode, with emphasis on ti and fa (corresponding to yi and fan in the traditional gongche notation respectively). This composition modulates between two yifan modes a fourth apart, which ultimately merge together towards the end. The traditional yifan mode is also called the "melancholy tone", and the music is usually sad. However, this composition reflects the vigor of the music of a Guangdong gin master of the past generation, Yang Xinlun, and the mood expressed is quite different from that of the traditional "melancholy tone".

Download score in staff and tablature notations

​創作樂曲

藝術的內容、風格與形式,素來均非一成不變。古典文學由唐詩到宋詞元曲,繪畫經歷各朝代南北畫派,都不斷推陳出新。音樂方面也是一樣,古琴曲千年來不斷蛻變,同一首琴曲,明初的譜與清朝譜已大異其趣。推陳出新並非摒棄傳統,現代琴人,面對浩瀚的歷史遺產,除了極力保存傳統、發掘傳統外,亦應在固有傳統上為古琴找尋新方向和元素。自1986年起,筆者嘗試為古琴創作新曲,並在香港和內地演出,部分收錄於鐳射唱片。偶有琴友對我的創作感興趣,向我索譜。為方便同好,我把部份創作的樂譜放在網上,歡迎琴友下載,作自己彈奏之用。如未經筆者同意,請勿出版或售賣。

​由於2016年前的創作,已以簡譜與減字雙行譜的形式收錄在《審律尋幽:謝俊仁論文與曲譜集》內,此網頁只放五線譜與減字雙行譜,以及2016年後的新創作。

Marble Surface

醉清平調

謝俊仁作曲(2017)

  文獻記載,李白為唐玄宗與楊貴妃醉詠〈清平調〉三首,李龜年歌之。是曲以此背境寫成。樂曲開始,以散版與游離調性描述李白醉態,並穿插了琴曲〈酒狂〉的主題變體,部分樂句使用了類似古代宮廷音樂「含變音五聲音階」的:「商、角、清角、羽、變宮」。〈清平調〉的主旋律用雅樂音階寫成,琴與簫則偶爾使用兩個不同調高的含變音五聲音階,與主旋律相映成趣。

  曲詞:
  (一) 雲想衣裳花想容,春風拂檻露華濃。若非群玉山頭見,會向瑤台月下逢。
  (二) 一枝紅艷露凝香,雲雨巫山枉斷腸。借問漢宮誰得似,可憐飛燕倚新妝。
  (三) 名花傾國兩相歡,常得君王帶笑看。解釋春風無限恨,沉香亭北倚欄杆。

​下載簡譜與減字雙行譜

 

​陳澤蕾(歌);胡潤勤(簫)

Marble Surface

《孔子63》/《孔子.回首63》配樂

謝俊仁作曲(2016)

  為香港中英劇團話劇《孔子63》/《孔子.回首63》寫的配樂。這是其中的三首短曲,由謝俊仁琴(絲絃),譚寶碩簫。

1
00:00 / 01:41
2
00:00 / 01:24
3
00:00 / 01:39
Marble Surface

山響

謝俊仁作曲(2014)

  琴簫合奏。曲名來自南朝畫家宗炳所說:「撫琴動操,欲令眾山皆響。」使用傳統音階糅合現代元素寫成,帶有禪意。全曲分為數個小標題:開始時,見「山不是山」,古琴以平行五度的泛音與調性游移的簫對答。引子過後,「眾山皆響」,典雅的主旋律以D羽調雅樂音階奏出,再變奏為D商調俗樂音階,帶出高潮。其後轉為D徵調苦音音階,響起「古剎鐘聲」,流露淡淡的哀愁。最後「眾山皆寂」,引子重現,見「山仍是山」。

下載五線譜

 

胡潤勤(簫)

Marble Surface

再世情

謝俊仁作曲(2002)

  這短小雅緻的旋律,是為2002年香港無線電視劇集《再生緣》寫的配樂。2013年,一時興致,與朋友石麗娜合作填了詞,並請余美麗試唱。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

 

余美麗(歌);胡潤勤(簫)

Marble Surface

角意

謝俊仁作曲(1999)

  中國傳統音樂有用宮調、商調、徵調、和羽調各調式;除少數民俗音樂外,角調樂曲極少。是曲試用七聲變徵音階之角調寫成,加上明朝琴譜的「淒涼調」音階,跟傳統清朝琴曲相比,另有一番新意。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

Marble Surface

秋祭

謝俊仁作曲(1997)

  無言之詩──獻給我摯愛的先外祖母

    夢迴
    秋祭
    假花
    燭淚

  用現代音樂手法寫的四段短曲。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

Marble Surface

商意

謝俊仁作曲(1990)

  《神奇秘譜》(1425)中卷的商調曲有個奇特的音階,多用半音,乍聽似宮調而實在不是;可惜這些曲子在後期的譜裏漸被淨化,半音被刪除,音階特色盡失。是曲使用這古音階寫成,嘗試重拾這古老而聽來清新的韻味。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

Marble Surface

落梅

謝俊仁作曲(1989)

  琴簫合奏。參考傳統古琴曲式,用變徵音階寫成。琴簫用自由對位,跟傳統齊奏模式不同。樂曲流露李煜詞:「砌下落梅如雪亂,拂了一身還滿」之意,描述亡國之哀愁。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

 

​蘇思棣(簫)

Marble Surface

一閃燈花墮

謝俊仁作曲(1988)

  參考傳統古琴曲式和風格寫成,結尾有轉調段落,以增加樂曲之感染力。全曲表達納蘭性德詞《尋芳草、蕭寺紀夢》夢中與亡妻相會之歎。詞的最後是:「乍偎人,一閃燈花墮,卻對著琉璃火。」

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

Marble Surface

變徵引

謝俊仁作曲(1987)

  變徵音階屬中國古音階,即五聲加上變宮(ti)和變徵(♯fa)。這琴簫合奏創作,用上自由對位,在傳統琴曲風格中帶出新意。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

 

​王悠荻(琴);楊偉傑(簫)

Marble Surface

秋日遊:詩三首

謝俊仁作曲(1987)

  此曲利用古琴獨特之音色,加上現代音樂手法,嘗試營造新詩的意境。全曲分為三個短小部份:

    湖上的星星
    林則徐像的寂寞
    幾片秋葉

  首二部份全用散板,大量利用半音,調性並不明確。第三部份用了兩個不同調的五聲音階,由空絃和泛音相間奏出,最後用不協音程寂然結束。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜

​姚錫安 (琴)

秋日遊姚錫安演奏
00:00 / 04:31
 
Marble Surface

雙乙反調

謝俊仁作曲(1986)

「乙反調」是廣東音樂常用的音階,強調ti、fa兩音(即工尺譜中的「乙」「反」),多屬徵調式。是曲用兩個相隔四度的乙反調寫成,初時相互交錯,最後結合為一,故名《雙乙反調》。傳統「乙反調」亦稱爲「苦喉」,多帶哀傷感覺。此創作則參考了上一代嶺南琴家楊新倫的剛健風格,與傳統「苦喉」風格相異。

下載五線譜與減字雙行譜